11

I’m totally hooked on a new hat pattern that I found.  It’s the Excess hat pattern by Anat Rodan.  You can find it for free by clicking HERE.

One of the things I love about this pattern is that the hat is knit from fingering/sock weight yarn.  I love knitting with yarn of this weight, and I have a ton of sock yarn in my stash, so this project is perfect for left overs. 

17

Stockinette brim already folded over and closed by knitting both sets of stitches together on a third circular needle. The body of the hat is then continued in the round from there.

The other thing I completely adore about this pattern is the brim.  It is actually a band of stockinette that is folded over and then closed up on three sets of needles (this requires that you begin with a provisional cast-on).  It makes a really neat and tidy looking brim.  I think it looks leaps and bounds better than the traditional ribbed bands described in most hat patterns.  I may be ruined for all other hat bands now.  I think I’ll be subbing in this technique wherever I can.

I pretty much followed the pattern for the hat pictured here.  I used Plucky Knitter Primo yarn in fingering weight, in this gorgeous purple color.  I thought it worked out super.  I knit the brim on this hat with size 5 circular needles, and the body of the hat with size 6 circulars. 

12

The hat is very stretchy and the fit turned out perfect.  I have already worn this hat on several occasions, and I love it. 

15

I couldn’t seem to get pictures that do this little hat justice.  It looks so much better in person.  I would recommend that anyone give this pattern a try, especially with a nice, hand dyed, fingering weight yarn.

14

I have actually already completed a second version of this pattern (and I’m contemplating a third…) with the same yarn base, but in a lovely gray color.  This time I increased the number of cast-on stitches by 20, and used size 3 needles for the entire hat.  Since the yarn is so thin, I wanted the second hat to have a tighter weave to it to help hold in warmth.  I worked the body for many more rows to make the hat longer so it’s a bit more of a slouch than a stocking cap.  It also turned out awesome.  Photos are coming soon!

 

~Happy knitting!

