Sept2014 084

After I finished my summer fair knitting, I had nearly a whole ball of left-over Debbie Stoller Alpaca Love yarn in a pretty, ruby red color left just sitting on the table next to my favorite chair.  For a commercially produced yarn, I actually really like the way it looks and feels.

I have a mini-stash of Debbie Stoller (of Stitch N’ Bitch fame) yarns, including Washable Ewe, Alpaca Love and Bamboo Ewe.  I tend to pick these up when odd balls go on clearance at the big chain craft stores in the area.  Since this one was the only ball of this yarn that I had, I wanted to make something nice for myself with it, both to have the satisfaction of using up all of the yarn, and to have something made from it close to me so that I could continue to enjoy it.

  I decided to make myself a new pair of fingerless mitts for my early morning drives into work.  It is always chilly in the Midwest in the early mornings during fall, and my hands are often cold when I’m driving.  I have an old, go-to pair that someone from knitting group made for me several years ago, but they are well-worn, and thought I could use new ones to add to the mix.

I wanted something simple, so after perusing patterns on Ravelry, I decided on the Peekaboo Mitts pattern as a template.  I wouldn’t have enough yarn to make the pattern as written, so I made a smaller version, and I added a little heart motif to the back of each hand by strategically placing purl stitches within the stockinette stitch.

 

Sept2014 078

Top and bottom surface of each mitt.

I more or less just improvised the placement of the little heart motif, and I thought it turned out well.

Sept2014 079

As you can see, I often block my mitts on the ankle area of some sock blockers.  The ones used here are a set from my vintage collection.  When they are not in use, they are displayed on the wall of my office at home.

So much basil in my garden this year!

So much basil in my garden this year!

I’ve actually gotten some use out of these mitts already this season.

Nearly fall and my tomatoes are still green...

Nearly fall and my tomatoes are still green…

I knit these on size 8, double pointed needles.  I decreased a few cast-on stitches to make the mitts narrower (since I have small hands and I wanted the mitts to be snug). 

I have also since finished my Skyp socks, and cast on (and nearly finished as of this post) a new, fall hat.  Details are coming soon…

~Happy knitting!

 

