I mentioned in a previous post that my sister requested Angora mittens for her birthday this past July.  I have told the story before of her beloved, Angora, childhood mittens (read about it HERE).  Even though I knit her what I thought was a nice homage to those mittens in some lavender/gray alpaca yarn a few years back, she has still been thinking about those childhood mittens, and asked again for a pair in Angora.

I was surprised that it was as tough as it was to get Angora yarn.  I eventually found some in the form of Kollage Yarns Scrumptious, which is 70% Angora and 30% silk.  I believe the yarn is no longer being made, so it was on closeout at Web’s online.  Not only did I get a good deal, but my sister was able to choose her color.  She likes jewel tones (it seems), and she picked out the colorway Key Lime, which is actually a really deep hunter green with maybe a touch of greyish blue in it.

The yarn is listed as worsted weight, but let me tell you that it is not.  I would describe it as a light sport weight at best, so I needed to find a pattern with some texture to thicken up the mittens. 

image

I really dislike knitting the same pattern twice.  (It’s a conquest thing.  Once I’ve conquered a pattern, I’m done.)  This meant I needed to find a new pattern that I wanted to make, that would work with the yarn.  I had a really hard time doing that, but eventually settled on this pattern:  Mittens for the Fisherman by Erica Lueder.  (It’s free, people!!!)

If you are a Ravelry member, here is the link to the pattern there:  Mittens for the Fisherman pattern on Ravelry.

Sept2014 027

 

The pattern is both written and charted, and each mitten is knit identically (there is no official front or back side of each mitten).  I adjusted the pattern a bit for my sister’s small hands, and also for the light weight of the yarn.  I shortened the thumb gusset but had to lengthen the hand by adding another pattern repeat of squares/boxes.

Sept2014 024

My sister was kind enough to let me enter the mittens into the fairs this summer since she wouldn’t be needing them until after August.  They ribboned twice:  second place in one fair and third place in another.  So now, as she says, she has award-winning birthday mittens.

 

Sept2014 031

 

~Happy knitting!

 

 

