Sept2014 005a

A few weeks ago, one of my favorite coworkers announced that she would be leaving for another job.  Today was our farewell party at work to see her off.  There was lots of food and balloons and presents – she is well loved.  I knew when she told me that she was leaving that I would knit her something as a going away gift.

I decided to knit her a herringbone cowl.  I used Plucky Knitter Primo yarn in a sport weight in the colorway Gray Goose. 

Sept2014 002a

Plucky Knitter yarn is hard to get.  I acquired this yarn on the Ravelry group’s destash page.  Primo is merino, cashmere and nylon.

I used this pattern:  Herringbone Cowl by Lauren Osborne.  It is free on Ravelry and it’s a great pattern.  I enjoyed knitting this cowl, and I want to make another in a heavier weight yarn. 

Sept2014 003a

I thought the cowl turned out great, and as far as I can tell, my coworker appreciated it.  I cast on several extra stitches than the pattern called for in order to make it long enough that it could be doubled around the neck if desired.

I love the look and texture of the stitch.

Sept2014 006

 

With that finished, tonight I cast on for a new pair of socks.  I am using some yarn I purchased at Stitches a few weeks ago. 

Askein

 

I’ve been itching to knit another pair of socks – I just needed to wait until fair season ended and my gift knitting died down.  And speaking of sock knitting, I want to mention this:

I am SOOO excited about this book!  Print copies will be available at the end of September.  I’m a total nerd when it comes to the history of sock knitting and the making of socks.  This book includes both topics.  My birthday is coming up, and though I usually get myself an antique sock blocker/stretcher to add to my collection, I think this book will actually be my pick this year.

If you want to learn more about the book, you can click the photo above to go to the publisher’s page, but you can also click HERE to read all about it on Ravelry if you are a Ravelry member.

 

Sept2014 008a

 

~Happy knitting!

