In the past 2 weeks, I finished a shawl, a pair of socks and a winter scarf.  I mentioned in my last post that I completed the On The Road shawl and it has been blocking all week:

Etsy 015

I was worried/disappointed with how small and scarf-like it had knit up, and I was already considering it somewhat of a failure until I blocked it.  I was so hoping this would happen!  As you can see, once soaked and pinned out, the lace opened up and the shawl is HUGE.  It’s over 5 feet long, and it looks really great.  The finished shawl will be the subject of my next post.

I have been in a mood lately to finish projects that have been left incomplete.  Generally I have lots of knitting projects in hibernation, but I nearly always pick them back up, sometimes years later, and finish them. 

I was working on this the week before last:

1

I started this Leaf Scarf in Cascade 220 back in 2012.  The pattern is from the book 60 Quick Knits, which is full of great projects. 

2

After knitting about 50% of it, this scarf sat for a few years.   I recently needed a mindless, nighttime knitting project, so I pulled it back out and completed it last weekend. 

 

3

The scarf is unblocked in these photos.  I just unpinned the On The Road shawl this morning, so I can block this scarf today.  I am happy with how it turned out.  I love the yarn, and I plan to keep this scarf for myself.

4

Up next in my ‘finishing line’ was pair of socks (I forgot to take photos of them this morning) that I started several months ago (I think last winter, but who really knows) and then picked back up and finished last weekend. 

It’s a pair that I made from some commercial sock yarn I bought at Hobby Lobby.  I ended up making two pairs of socks from that yarn.  I never posted about the first pair, although I did wear them this past winter (the socks are washable wool, and the winter was outrageously cold).  I will include photos of both pairs (and tell you why there are two) in an upcoming post.

I need to start thinking about knitting a pair of socks for the fairs this year, but I haven’t been able to bring myself to start anything ‘fairworthy’.  I do have a few ideas though.  I may start some mittens today, too.

~Happy knitting!

