More kitchen cotton!  No, this has still not gotten old for me.  I love useful, hand-made kitchen stuff…

Etsy 087

Since I have a lot of variegated, cotton yarn laying around, I decided to make kitchen towels and cloths utilizing linen stitch.  I LOVE linen stitch.  Recall that I knit a linen stitch scarf last year (see post by clicking HERE). 

Linen stitch looks neat and flat, and appears more woven than knit.  It has a nice drape and lack of bulk.  What is also does, though, is distribute colors within hand-painted and variegated yarns in the nicest, loveliest way. 

 

6

Most of us dislike the ‘pooling’ of color that can occur with these types of yarns.  For an example of some serious pooling of colors from a hand-painted yarn, see my link HERE for my Breath of Fresh Air Scarf knit from a hand-painted yarn from Three Irish Girls

I have mentioned before that I don’t like my fiberwork to look ‘crafty’, and my goal is usually to make something that people are often not entirely sure is hand-made or machine made.  Color pooling, in my opinion, often makes projects look crafty and home-made, and I generally don’t like it.

4  2

Since linen stitch contains lots of slipped stitches, it carries colors from one row below up to your current row every other stitch, and in this way, distributes the colors within unevenly or irregularly dyed yarns throughout your work. 

In the case of these dish cloths, it gives them a fun, multicolored look that reminds me of confetti.  Linen stitch also gives the illusion that the piece is more complex than it actually is.

Etsy 086

People who knit linen stitch know it has one major down-side:  since stitches are being slipped as part of the pattern, your fabric grows fairly slowly compared to many other stitch patterns.  In my opinion, it is totally worth the work! 

In the case of these dish cloths, I love the way they look and feel, and they make great, relaxing, stress-knitting at the end of a day when my mind is too tired to think about a detailed pattern.

~Happy knitting!

