Maile2

Since I have some catching up to do on my posts, I did my best this evening to get some photos of this infant sweater that I knit last summer, sometime around July or August.  I began knitting it in January 2013 for an upcoming baby shower, and then I lost interest.  When the Will County Fair came up late last summer, I decided to finish it as an entry.  It placed second.

I knit this from Malabrigo sock yarn in the colorway eggplant.  The buttons are vintage buttons that I purchased while out antiquing with my sister.  I have a really hard time choosing buttons for articles that I knit.  They can change the character of a garment so dramatically, it really stresses me out.  I thought these worked out well, though.

Maile1

The pattern is the Maile Sweater, designed by Nikki Van De Car.  It can be found on Ravelry by clicking HERE.  It is the first and only baby sweater I have knit so far.  I am really pleased with my color choice for the sweater.  It shows off the lace well.  The lace insets at the shoulders look like chains of small leaves.  The Lace detail along the bottom of the sweater runs all of the way around it. 

Maile3

It snowed here all day again!  I love being a knitter in the winter.

~Happy knitting!

 

