Bryony7

I thought I’d show you what I’ve been up to with my knitting.  I try not to go weeks without posting, but the new term at the college has kept me extremely busy.  Everyone around me is sick, and I have (so far) managed not to come down with anything myself.  I’ve been taking my vitamins and I had a nice salad for lunch (to balance out the cupcakes I ate for breakfast – ha). 

I haven’t had much time to knit in the last two weeks, and when I do, I’m so tired that I can’t even consider it.  I started two projects right before my holiday break ended, and I nearly finished one of them before everything knitty came to a standstill.

Since everyone has been admiring my Rayures cowl, and I have been finding it so useful in the cold weather, I was inspired to knit another.  I couldn’t find quite what I wanted, so I ended up designing one with the reward hank of Dream In Color Smooshy with Cashmere (in the limited Camp Loopy Colorway Sleeping Under the Stars) that I earned from participating in Camp Loopy last summer.

Sleeping Under The Stars

The color doesn’t translate well in the photos.  It’s actually a deeper blue with hints of green.

I wanted this cowl to be long so that I can double it if needed.  I started with a provisional cast on and flanked a pretty lace pattern with stockinette stitch to show off the lovely variation in the yarn.  I considered knitting this one in a tube, like Rayures, but in the end elected not to.

Bryony Cowl

I had intended that it be a simple cowl, but then I noticed how pretty my beaded stitch markers — seen along the top edge in the photo above —  looked with the yarn and lace, so I decided to do something I have never done before:  bead a section of the cowl.

Bryony

I just sort of winged it, and it turned out great.  I am really happy with the cowl so far, and it is nearly done.  Just a few more feet to go.

Bryony3

The lace will open more once I block it.  I think that I will have to block this one before I graft the two ends together to make it one continuous loop.  I’m not sure how I could block it well enough to open the lace with the cowl in loop form…  We will see.

~Happy knitting!

