A1

When I was growing up, I had an aunt named Bertha who loved crafts of all types.  In addition to ceramics and sewing, she was a talented knitter and crocheter.  When I was around 10 years old, she made me a lovely sweater to wear, and I remember being disappointed with how quickly I outgrew it.  I liked it quite a lot, but due to being a young, growing girl, it didn’t fit me beyond one winter.

I liked the sweater so much that I kept it all of these years.  My mother (Bertha’s sister) didn’t even know that I had stashed it away as a little girl.  It just felt wrong to pass it on or to donate away something that my aunt had made by hand. 

I would have had no way of knowing back then that I would eventually be an avid knitter myself,  appreciating the sweater even more than I did before.   

Hand-made sweater

There is one photo of me in the family album – wearing the sweater – which is kind of neat to see.  (I can’t wrap my head around the fact that I fit this little sweater at the age of 10, but there I am!)

AuntBerthaSweater

Aside from Santa and Mrs. Claus, that is my big brother and my little nephew in the shot with me. 

If you read yesterday’s post, you’ll be glad to know that my sister liked the mittens I knit for her.  Here we are looking happy after opening gifts last night:

Sisters2012

~Happy Holidays!!!

