5

There is a story that when my sister was a kid, she coveted a pair of angora wool mittens that my mother had knitted. They were old, old mittens, and Karen (my sister) would not give them up or let my mom throw them away. There are stories of one mitten being run over by the bus at one point, (my Mom claims the resulting mitten was a foot long) and Karen wore them until they were thread-bare.


Here is my nod to her beloved child-hood mittens. No angora, but the alpaca is SO soft and gives the mittens a pretty halo. The color is somewhere between gray and pink and blue
(so gorgeous).
Karen is really petite, and I struggled a little with getting these modified to fit my big sister’s tiny hands since I have never knit the pattern before.  I think they turned out well overall.

2

The yarn is so soft!  When I saw it at the fiber-fest last summer, I knew immediately that I wanted to make Karen’s mittens from it.  The people who raised the alpacas that provided the wool included a little card with care instructions for the garment.  I tucked it inside one of the mitten cuffs.

7 

I found this super-cute box for them, and inside I wrapped them in silver, snowflake tissue paper. 

4

Mitten pattern:  Green Leaf Mittens by Amy Mercer

Yarn:  Classic Alpaca (100% superfine alpaca) from The Alpaca Yarn Co.

Needles:  Size 3 DPNs 

3

Make something warm for someone you love.

~Happy holiday knitting! 

