I’ve been working on some projects that I have not yet mentioned here on the blog.  (I’ve been quiet, but that’s because I’ve been busy…)  One is a sweater that I’m knitting from a cotton blend, worsted weight yarn:

Proof of Sweater

It is this sweater:  Flore by Julie Hoover

I was hoping to have a blog post called “A Sweater in Three Weekends” because I am whipping right through this sweater pattern, and after two weeks, I was  two-thirds of the way done.  One sleeve and the shoulders/neckline are all that is left.  Alas, I got side-tracked by yet another new project that I have been working on, and my Flore got put on hold. 

When the mood strikes me again, though, I’m sure I will finish it up so that I have a new sweater to wear this season.

I didn’t really have a plan to knit a sweater this close to the holidays, but I landed at a Hobby Lobby the weekend of Thanksgiving (long story involving my car breaking down…), and I found this yarn called Bernat Denimstyle there that I just love.  I’m a sucker for cotton-blend, sweater yarn anyway, and this was soft and green and the price was right. 

It seems to be working out well with the pattern, and it appears (gasp) that the sweater will actually fit me.  You may recall that although I am an awesome knitter in general, I am still a bit challenged in the sweater department, especially in the areas of fit and gauge.  This fact played a role in my decision to knit this sweater up with relatively cheap yarn.  Nothing is worse than knitting a wonky, too small, sleeves on the ground, goofy-looking sweater out of $200 worth of hand-dyed yarn.  I may or may not be speaking from experience here.

~Knit on! 

