Last weekend, I knit these socks.  I have so many ideas in my head lately, for so many projects that I would like to knit, that I often lay in bed at night and think “I wish could be knitting __(fill in random project idea here)__”. 

Friday night, I decided that I really wanted to use up some of the yarn that I bought last year from Freshisle Fibers, so I knit these worsted weight, cozy, Suffolk wool socks.

This lightly processed wool from Suffolk sheep is naturally machine wash and dryable.  It gets loftier and softer with every washing.  The yarn is processed without chemicals, and it still contains some lanolin along with bits of straw and organic material.

I thought it would make a nice, cozy, hard-wearing pair of bed socks for this winter.

I knit these on size 4 bamboo DPNs, following a modified version of the Watermelon Vines Socks pattern that is meant for Freshisle Fibers self striping watermelon yarn in the same weight.  It has cute lacy details that work well with the fluffiness of the yarn.

The pattern was a new adventure for me since the entire sock construction was different from any sock pattern that I have knit before.  This pattern called for knitting the sock in a tubular fashion, all of the way to the toe, which is then decreased and grafted with kitchener stitch.  As you knit past the area where the heel should be, you actually knit onto some waste yarn (shown here in red), and then keep on moving.

Once the toe is grafted, you remove the waste yarn at the location of the heel to liberate the live stitches.  A heel is then knit in and again grafted closed with kitchener stitch.

Kind of interesting.  I have never knit socks without short row heels, and I have to say that I like the result of the short row heel much better than this method.  A sock with this construction really benefits from a good blocking to enforce a nice sock shape.  Here it is on the blocker.

You can see how the heels work out with this construction.  After blocking, I ran the socks through the washer and the dryer once to make them even fluffier, and to remove some of the lanolin and straw that remained in the wool.  The socks are cozy, and should work great this winter.   

I like them so much that I plan to knit another pair in the same wool but this time with a more conventional sock construction.   Nothing but toasty toes for me!

~Happy knitting!

