I’ve been a busy little knitter lately.  Not only did I finish my Cladonia Shawl two weeks ago, I also finished a hat.  I mentioned this hat in my previous Stitch Red post.  I fell in love with the pattern and the yarn (and the cause!) while I was shopping the vendor hall at Stitches Midwest a few weeks ago.

The pattern is the Ruby Red Heart Hat by Kristen Ashbaugh-Helmreich.  I knit it with the intended yarn, which is Classic Elite Magnolia, a wool and silk blend in the Ruby colorway.  Trust me when I tell you that it is heavenly.  I used size 5 DPNs  and 16″ circular needles for the ribbed band and the decrease rounds.  I used size 7 DPNs for the main lace pattern of the hat.   The pattern requires approximately 1 and another 1/4 ball of Magnolia yarn.

After the pattern is knit, it looks like a stocking hat.

Then you soak it carefully in order to block it into shape:

Meanwhile, you find yourself an 11 inch dinner plate which will work perfectly for blocking the hat.

The hat slips over the dinner plate like so.

The hat is allowed to dry over the plate.  This will shape the hat into the intended ‘slouch’ style.

.

A view of the back of the hat:

.

~Happy knitting!

