.

I haven’t been able to post much lately due to the upcoming knitting deadlines within my normal, busy, work schedule.  If I have some spare time on weekends, or in the evenings, it is used for actual knitting rather than writing about the knitting.  The good new is, I finished my cardigan last night!  I can’t believe I knit a cardigan in a little over 3 weeks.  That’s crazy-town.  I have the finishing to do today, which will include closing the neckline and the under-arms with kitchener stitch (being a sock knitter, this is an easy and comfortable task) as well as knitting on some toggle style button loops for two buttons that I guess I need to run out and purchase today.  Then of course, there will be blocking. 

I already know it fits (cue marching band…), since I had to try it on multiple times to figure out when to stop the raglan sleeve decreases and start on the neckline.  I have never knit a bottom-up sweater construction before, so it was an experience, and I think with my not so impressive history of seaming in sleeves, this may be the way to go for me when choosing future sweater patterns.  I’m just sayin’.

With the time I will have left until next weekend, when the county fair entries are due in, I am hoping to finish knitting the improved pair of Chivalry mitts that I have been working on.  Mitt #1 is nearly done now, but I have not had time to take photos.  They will turn up in future posts.

This past week, while I was out trying to get the lawn mowed after work, my neighbor stopped by to give me two freshly grown cucumbers (they were delicious and I ate them both in one sitting when I got done with the lawn) along with the crocheted cotton dish towel pictured at the top of this blog.  Isn’t it cute?  I love the colors.  I don’t think she knows that I knit, and I didn’t really get to tell her, but I did tell her how I love me a good hand-made dish clothI thought it looked pretty with the cucumbers and I felt the need to photograph it.

I’m off in search of buttons (and breakfast)!

~Happy knitting

