When I set the above photo up to show you my SLOW progress on my Garden Cardigan, I didn’t realize it had an overall red, white and blue look to it.  Happy Independence Day, a day late! 

I spent mine at a parade with some family.  I made good use of my umbrella chair yet again since we are under a dangerous heat advisory here until Friday, and the sun was blazing. 

My brothers are in town as of today, and I spent my afternoon shuttling one of them in from the airport – yay!  It never feels like summer until my brothers come to visit.  After that, I headed over to get my car emissions test updated since it is due in about 2 days, and now I am back home for the evening.

I have been working on my Garden Cardigan since I must complete it by July 27th.  I have been having fun working the body of the sweater from the bottom up, but after 5 pattern repeats, I am ready to move on to the next part.  If my measurements are correct, I need one more pattern repeat on the body before I start the sleeves since I would like my cardigan to be a bit longer than the pattern calls for. 

If I can stay awake long enough, I’ll be working on getting those last 20 rows done tonight so that I can begin the first sleeve, which is done separately, in the round, on DPNs and then attached in the round later in the pattern.  Should be interesting.  I have never worked a pattern like this one before.  I am anxious to see that it works out OK. 

Meanwhile, I need to be thinking about our local Lake County Fair, since I plan to enter this year, and the completed entry form is due July 11th…

 

~Happy knitting!

