Hey, why are all of those people knitting in the park??

 

As mentioned in yesterday’s post, I spent today knitting in the park for World Wide Knit In Public Day.  Yarns To Dye For and More, a LYS in Frankfort, IL organized the gathering. 

 

Here is the shop in adorable downtown Frankfort. 

  Lots of knitters turned out to enjoy the day and participate. 

  

I had to show you this:  GIANT knitting needles!   

  

 The lady in the photo above was knitting an American flag from double stranded, bulky weight yarn with her GIANT needlesShe actually has a small business going, selling her special, one of a kind (incredibly large) knitting needles.  Visit her website and learn more about GIANT knitting by clicking HERE. 

Our knitting group even had a little mascot with us under the tent for most of the day.  Gizmo the dog was kind enough to make herself available for treats and belly rubs. 

 

I finished the leg of my second Camp Loopy sock, so now I can begin the heel.  I didn’t have the most productive knitting day with all of the distractions, but I did have so much fun!  Many knitters were working on sweaters, socks, shawls, and blankets.  It was fun to see what everyone was up to, and to admire their yarn and pattern choices.   

The shop had some sales, and I did pick up some yarn and a few other things that I will share in future posts.  As it turns out, I won a Classic Elite pattern book and yarn in the raffle, so I will be picking that up some time next week!  Yay!  I also brought some biscuits home from the barkery located next door to the knitting shop for my two, spoiled, canine kids. 

Now I can add ‘park’ to my list of public locations where I have knitted! 

~Happy knitting (day)!

