I was ready to post this yesterday but my computer was not cooperating.  I’m trying this again, so here we go!

Since I am trying so hard lately to save some money, I mentioned in a previous post that I will need to knit from my stash for a little while.  In the beginning of this week, I was perusing my personal stores of previously acquired yarn and fell in love (all over again) with this:

 It’s Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in the colorway Calumet.  Isn’t it pretty?  I love Lorna’s Laces yarn.  Shepherd Sock and Shepherd Sport actually get puffier and softer every time you wash them.

As seen above, the problem is that I purchased this yarn early in my knitting career, before I had a clue what a usable (and a not-so-usable) amount of yarn might be.  Somehow at that time, it seemed reasonable to me to purchase a mere 58 grams of this lovely stuff.

It really wants to be socks.

Sooo I’m trying to make two reasonably sized socks out of it, which is requiring considerable planning on my part (but it’s making me feel really industrious).  I won’t be able to make the cuff as long as I would like to, but I did want a nice, crisp-looking, repeating pattern that I can carry down onto the instep for these socks.

Once again I chose a pattern from the Sock’s a La Carte Book.  (See a previous discussion from this blog on the book HERE.)  This time I picked one called “Oh Baby”.  It looks like small twisted or cabled ribs (but it’s not cables). 

So far, I really like it.  The pattern is really simple and relaxing and it looks nice with this yarn.   

OOH!  OOH!  I just noticed while setting up the links for this post that there is a new book in the Socks a la Carte series I do not yet own.  It is Socks a La Carte – Colorwork.  It was published in August of 2011.  I think I’ll be ordering that one some time soon.  I’ll see if I can find it used.  I own the first two books in the series, and I like them quite a lot for getting ideas and patching together my own patterns.

I also finally found the PERFECT sweater pattern for the Knit Picks CotLin that I purchased, but I’ll save that for another post.

~Happy socking!

