So what was that mysterious dark garment in my sink full of bubbles last night?  Here’s another view of it, once out of the sink, pinned out for actual blocking:

It’s my Fern Lace scarf that I started many moons ago with this lovely green/blue hank of Dream in Color Smooshy fingering weight wool.

Here it is after blocking, in all of its glory:

 

Here it is on me.

This is a scarf that I started last July after purchasing the Leisure Arts lace pattern book, 50 Fabulous Knitted Lace Stitches by Rita Weiss.  I just loved the look of the lace pattern, so I used it to devise this simple scarf.  Here is a close-up photo of the stitch detail.

If you noticed, I didn’t do anything fancy to make the scarf symmetric.  The leaves all face one direction, but I could have made two halves and kitchenered them together. 

The fact that I did not do that makes both bottom edges of the scarf different (look closely – they don’t match), but I don’t mind it since I think it’s interesting. 

As you can see from the photos, it was a sunny day here today.  Back to lecture writing and grading for me.  If I finish with enough time, I may bake a pan of cookies.

~Happy knitting!

