I mentioned in the last post that I was thinking about making my Sokkusu Sock Club yarn into some mittens.  I actually need another pair, so I was hoping to get them done this weekend so I would have them to wear for the rest of this season. 

I haven’t made mittens from sock yarn yet, although I have made fingerless mitts in fingering weight already.  I just love fingering weight yarn, and I think I would make everything from it if I could. 

Here is the Knit Love Club sock yarn I got in February with two patterns (patterns that were pretty but not terribly practical for me).  Either way, I ended up with some lovely yarn.

This is my first time working with Sokkusu sock yarn, and I have heard lots of good things.  It is very soft and has a neat sort of spongy texture to it.  It’s also washable! 

Here it is being wound up for use:

Once in a neat little ball, I could really appreciate the softness and that unique sponginess.  As you will see in the following photos, it just barely holds the shape of the ball, and I couldn’t help but squash it:  it feels like one of those Koosh Balls everyone had in the ’90’s!

So I wanted to knit myself a pair of functional mittens in fingering weight that actually fit my tiny hands, and that had a pattern on the top surface, but just stockinette on the palm surface (so that I could actually function in them).  I searched Ravelry but couldn’t find a single mitten pattern that would work.  Most fingering weight mitten patterns found there are colorwork, which would not be an option for hand-painted yarn.

I decided to hit up (once again) the great Ann Budd.  The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patterns looks really intimidating when you leaf through the pages (math!  what?), but it is actually invaluable to serious knitters.  I got mine used for next to nothing on Amazon.com a few years ago at the recommendation of Crazy Aunt Purl.

I’m knitting my mittens in the round, using the 8-9 stitch per inch specifications.  Notice my carefully wound ball of yarn in the photo below looks nothing like it did after winding.  It has a mind of its own!  You may also notice that I broke down and purchased some HiyaHiya stainless steel DPNs for anything under a size 2.  I actually prefer the 4 to 5 inch bamboo or wood DPNs for socks and similar things, but I got tired of broken needles.  The needles being used here (for the cuff) are size 0.  They worked out fine, but being 6 inches long, I could tell that extra inch was slowing me down a bit.

 

I decided to use a seed rib pattern for the top surface of the hand, and simple stockinette for the palm.  You can see that in this photo. 

 

The sizing also turned out perfect!  Yay!  Now I just need to finish mitten number two, and get it to match perfectly.  This yarn works up wonderfully, and it amazingly retains its shape and sponginess once it is knit into a garment/object.  I’m really excited that I should have enough left after mitten #2 to either make a second pair, or whip up some socks.  The stretchy, elastic quality would make it great for gloves, too.  Can’t wait to see what Alice sends out next!

 When I realized last week that I was going to work on some new mittens, I was a little blue about the fact that it is already March (how did that happen!?).  I really enjoyed knitting warm winter clothes over this past season.  I have many nice memories associated with it. 

It’s been a balmy range of 40 to 50 degrees for the last several weeks here, but this weekend, it managed to snow!

You can see the little flakes on the banister here in this photo taken this morning.  Nothing is sticking, but it did make me smile that I got to, at least one more time this winter, knit up some weekend mittens while snow was falling outside.

~Happy knitting!

