My Breath of Fresh Air Scarf is finished.  You can find the pattern (by Debbie O’Neill) by clicking HERE.

This was a pattern I would never have bought and chosen to knit.  I actually acquired it because it was included with a sock pattern that I bought.  It was provided as an optional project to be made with the Paca Peds Heels and Toes sock yarn that came with the sock pattern.   

Some time later, I fell in love with this Three Irish Girls Glenhaven Cashmerino yarn in the colorway Marin.  It is some of the softest, squishiest yarn I have ever owned.   It was one of those yarns that I just had to have, so it was purchased with no real plan in mind.

After searching through my patterns, I realized that the Breath of Fresh Air Scarf could be knit with one hank of this yarn.  I did need a solid color for the lace trim, so I ordered some Loopy Ewe Solid Series sock yarn in the colorway Burgundy, and it I think it worked out quite nicely.

       

I am actually really thrilled with how this scarf turned out.  Since I didn’t originally love the scarf pattern, I didn’t have high expectations for my finished scarf.  It ended up being a really enjoyable project to knit, and I love how the actual scarf looks and feels. 

In other news, two knitting books that I ordered from Amazon came in today.  One is Alice Starmore’s Charts for Color Knitting which I picked up since I have finally tried my hand at some stranded colorwork with the Chivalry Mitts pattern (my mitts are nearly finished, by the way).  I am over the moon excited about the other book that I ordered: Folk Socks: the History and Techniques of Handknitted Footwear by Nancy Bush

 I am SOOO ready to geek out with the history of sock knitting.

But first, I have to finish some prep work for classes tomorrow, and then hopefully finish knitting my Chivalry Mitts so that they can be blocked next. 

~Happy knitting!

