The last few days have been good ones.  When I got home from my parent’s house on Friday night, I found a box sitting out on my porch in the rain.  It was my Christmas gift from my brother Tom who lives in California:

It’s a yarn swift and ball winder from Knit Picks!!!  Yay!  I’ve been needing these for quite some time now, and I had just spent a half hour that evening winding the second hank of Ultra Alpaca Fine yarn for Karen’s scarf into a ball.  I sure could have used that swift!

And speaking of Karen’s scarf, I did finish it late Friday night.  Here it is blocking:

And here is a nice shot of the pattern detail once it was fully blocked out on the foam:

 

Here it is finished, after blocking.  I am elated with how well it turned out – even prettier than I expected.

  

   

My sister Karen seemed to like it.  She wore it home, with her new coat.

 

Wishing you the happiest of holidays…

~Kristen

