Even with finals week approaching, I have managed to get some knitting done.  Actually, I’m more behind on my blogging than I am on my knitting, so I have some things to show you, including a finished object.

Last weekend, I managed to finish the body of the A Breath of Fresh Air Scarf  so that now I can focus on adding the lace border.  I’m excited to try it, since I have not knit a lace border to anything before.  Here is the body of the scarf so far, prior to the addition of the lace border.

       

I also had a request a while back from my cousin to make her a cabled hat like the one I previously blogged about HERE.  I saw her yesterday for a nice dinner and night out with my sister, so I made her hat during the week so that I could bring it along and give it to her. 

        

As you can see, her hat is pink.  It may not show so well in the photos, but it’s actually a soft, frosty looking, heathered pink.  The yarn is Lion Brand Wool-Ease in the color Blush Heather.  I think it turned out nicely, but the original hat made with Stitch N Bitch Alpaca Love Yarn was tighter which gave it a better fit, and neater looking cables.  I’m learning as I go here, but I think I’m discovering that stiffer yarn makes nicer cables.

My cousin was happy with the hat, and she asked if I would make one for her daughter.  She picked out a yarn that she liked from my stash (a pretty indigo blue color called Blue Mist, also in Lion Brand Wool-Ease), and I will be working on that during the holidays. 

In other news, it turned out that my cousin also knew of some local causes in need of warm winter accessories, which was perfect since I had been compiling a stash of things from my charity knitting endeavors.  Her son’s mother-in-law is a school nurse for a somewhat local grade school, and she had mentioned that many of the students come to her telling her that they have no hats/scarves/mittens because their parents can’t afford to buy them.  It had gotten to the point that she was buying yards of fleece and cutting strips to be used as make-shift scarves for the children in need. 

When my cousin mentioned this, I realized that I could help because I have a stash of donatable knits accumulating for just such a situation.  16 hats and 3 pairs of mittens will be going to the school, and anything they can’t use will be donated to a local church’s warm winter clothing drive. 

As if knitting wasn’t awesome enough, charity knitting makes it feel even better.

Happy knitting!  Take some time to knit up something warm for someone you love this winter.

