Yay for Sunday morning.  I just started the laundry, fed the birds and made a fresh pot of coffee.   Yesterday was a bit of a marathon again, with the morning spent doing some heavy-duty yard work, and the evening spent getting the last of my grading done. 

So did you support a local small business yesterday?  If you have read my last few posts, you would know that I am SUPER excited about the Small Business Saturday idea.  I already love and appreciate what our local small businesses have to offer, but isn’t it also great to feel empowered (strength in numbers!) by something positive we can do in a time when our country leaves us feeling a little hopeless?   That’s how it feels to me, anyway.

So here’s what I decided to do.  I was shopping around Online last night, and noticed some great patterns at the Three Irish Girls website.  I know, that’s not a LOCAL small business, but it’s a small business that I was happy to support. 

I bought four different patterns.  The first thing that caught my eye was the Chicanery Mitts pattern.  I see lots of fingerless mitt patterns, and many of them are very artistic, but don’t always seem very practical or functional to me.  These look so great, and totally useful — and I think they would make a great Christmas gift for someone.

Then I saw the Live Oak Scarf which I love, love, love, and totally plan to knit.

There was also a beginners lace shawl pattern called the Loinnir Shawlette available for a few bucks, so I bought that one too.  I have been toying around with plans to make a ‘real’ shawl, but I am a little confused and intimidated by some of the patterns, and this one seemed like a good place to start.  The other major draw for me was that the entire pattern only takes 1 hank of yarn.  I have so many great little hanks in my collection, and I am in need of patterns for some ‘one skein wonders’ so that I can use them.

I also fell for this great cabled sock pattern:  Sonja Socks.  In all my ‘socky obsession’, I still have yet to knit a pair of cabled socks.

In other news, I regret to say that my little knitting nook in the corner of my bedroom has been overtaken by chaos and bedlam.  I am hoping to spend some time today organizing and trying to restore order to my little happy place.  I tend to leave yarn around because it seems a shame to store such soft, lovely hanks away in a plastic tub.  I am entertaining ideas for how I might display some of my yarn, since it’s pretty and it makes me happy —  Maybe some shelves or something.

Have a great Sunday.  Happy knitting!

