Sorry to have been a bit of a stranger lately.  There is a lot going on at work and at home (as usual), but I HAVE been knitting, despite my recent lack of blog posts.

I have mentioned before that one of my all-time favorite yarns is Lion Brand Amazing.  Well, yet another Lion Brand yarn has caught my eye, and I decided to start a project with it.  Have you seen the Recycled Cotton yarn?  It is composed of leftovers from T-shirt manufacturing.  The yarn is very natural and Earthy in appearance, which I like (and it’s Earth friendly). 

I chose to work with it in the color ‘Pebble Beach’.

Since it was the great Ann Budd who helped me to acquire my understanding of sock construction via her book, Getting Started Knitting Socks, I decided to rely on her again in hopes of gaining some basic mastery of sweater construction.  Besides, I REALLY want a sweater made in this cotton.

 

Using The Knitter’s Handy Book of  Patterns, I decided on a pullover.  I figured this would also be a great project to finally try out some Addi Turbo Needles, so I ordered some size 8’s from The Loopy Ewe.  I have already completed the back of the sweater, and I have started the front.  The texture of the yarn is so lovely once it is knit up.  The cotton feels a little stiff when wound in a ball, so I was happy to see it soften up when worked into stockinette stitch.  It is also not as difficult to work with as some stiffer, 100% cotton yarn can be.

In other cotton-ey news, I have made some more progress on the set of dish towels I am now hoping to complete for my brother as part of his Christmas gift.  He likes the color already, so I think he will enjoy them. 

And lastly, I also started a plain, striped scarf from some cotton blend yarn that had been sitting in my ‘stash’.  I noticed the compliment of the colors, and I loved the green and brown together.  This cotton blend is really, really, soft, and should be cozy and cute to wear when I’m chilly.

Despite my ‘project schizophrenia’, things are coming along nicely, even if it’s a little at a time on several different projects.   For me, this versatility in projects to work on helps keep me interested, since I can switch around depending on my mood.

Three last things…….

1. Yay for coffee.

2. Yay for the weekend.

3.  I don’t know about you, but I am wiped out.  For those of you with a bit more energy left over after your work week, Sheep’s Clothing in Valparaiso, IN is having an all day mitten knitting class today (Oct 15th).  So if you are in the area, you are hoping to learn some mitten knitting skills, or you just want to hang out with like-minded people and support a great Midwest Local Yarn Shop, consider attending.  You can read about it HERE.

We are having great fall weather here in the Midwest.  We’ll be needing our mittens soon.  Enjoy your weekend, and happy knitting!

