This week was a really busy one for me (again).  I was away from work for two days (Wed and Thurs) in order to attend a conference at Purdue University. 

Since the town is an hour behind us here, I had to be there by 7 am my time, which meant getting up at 4 am each morning, driving nearly 4 hours each day, and in total, attending 13 hours worth of lecture.  Sound tiring?  It was!  But it was also excellent and wonderful, and if I could have attended the third day on Friday, I would have done it in a heartbeat.

I packed some knitting (the second Mandarin Vines sock) to bring along in case I encountered some down time.  As it turned out, the conference kept me pretty busy, but on Thursday, once I had the lay of the land and a feel for the schedule, I snuck away on my lunch break and made a visit (my second in total) to River Knits, the LYS down there in West Lafayette, IN.  I got some DPNs for sock knitting — they had the aluminum styles for sale, so I bought a few sets in the tiny sizes since I seem to keep breaking anything finer than a #1 when it’s made of bamboo.  I figured I might as well give it a try.

I also purchased some more Crystal Palace Mini Mochi (I love that stuff) in a pretty tonal blue colorway, and a hank of Classic Elite Yarns Alpaca Sox.  I wanted to buy every hank of Alpaca Sox the store had, but managed to leave with only the single hank, also in a blue colorway, but this one variegated.

I was so excited about the Alpaca Sox that I started knitting a sock as soon as I got home from the conference.  I expect to have sock #1 of this pair finished tomorrow.  It is SO SOFT.  I love it!  The yarn would have made really great hand warmers too, and I’m already plotting where I will get more of this stuff for all of my future Alpaca Sox project ideas…

So this is my 50th post on this blog!  Sorry no photos tonight.  I have much more to show and share, but it will have to wait until I have a bit more time on my hands.

Good night and happy knitting!

 

