One of the many great things about knitting is that there are so many techniques to be learned and used, and they are all so different.  I was over the moon- excited, when I learned to cable, and delighted to find that a rather simple technique could yield such striking and complex looking results.  I became a cabling addict for a time there, and I still love the way cabling looks on knitted items.

Early in my cabling experience, I was at knitting group one night, working on one of many different cabled projects that I had going at the time, and everyone was commenting on how lovely my work was.  One woman mentioned that she was also wanting to learn to cable, and that she was planning on attempting to master it next, after her current project was done.  A young girl who was leaving for the evening overheard the conversation and, as women like to do, took the wind out of my fancy, cabled sails by interjecting:  “What?  Cabling is no big deal.  All you have to do is knit your stitches out of order.” 

Even though I had to politely overlook the fact that she was sort of ruining my moment in the sun, I have to admit that I thought that her observation was a smart one with regard to the technique of cabling.  If you can knit and purl, you can cable.  It’s yet another one of those aspects of knitting that makes me wonder: “who came up with this idea??!!”  It’s amazing to me.  And fun!

One of the books on my Christmas list last year was this one:

 

 

Since I got all into the cabling, I was intrigued by this book because it lists  cabling stitch patterns by various categories (that I had not previously known existed).  There are trailing cables, reversible cables, mock cables, and even colorwork with cables.  The author, Lily Chin, is somewhat of a knitting genius (in my opinion).  She clearly understands the ‘mechanisms’ involved in creative knitting, and manipulates them in very innovative ways.

I was excited to see Lily Chin on a public television knitting show last week, and much to my delight, she was “throwing”.  It seems that most of the great knitters are “pickers”, so this surprised me a lot (even though I realize that many of them are so talented that they can execute throwing AND picking, depending on the circumstance). 

(For an explanation of throwing and picking, you can look HERE.)

In any case, being a fellow thrower, that sort of got me excited.  Here’s a TGIF shout-out to all of the throwers out there!  Have a great weekend!

 

One of the many buttons that adorns my knitting bag.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

