There really is no other way to say it:  last week was a crappy week. 

As I have mentioned before, I have many little coping tricks that help me along when things just generally suck, but last week was crappy on an epic level, and it warranted a trip to the LYS.

There really is no LOCAL, LYS around here.  There are three that are within reasonable distance, and I will often pick one and head there when I need to cheer myself up.  Last Christmas, I was given a gift certificate to Sheep’s Clothing in Valparaiso, IN, and I was saving it for just such an occasion. 

On Saturday, I made a trip out in the rain to Sheep’s Clothing, and as I mentioned in my last post, I treated myself to some REALLY nice yarn.  I was mainly looking for more of the Lorna’s Laces yarn that I had picked up on a whim when in West Lafayette at River Knits.  I really liked the look and feel of the yarn.  It got even softer after I washed it.  I was hoping to find more.

It seems that all privately owned yarn stores have their personal favorite yarns that they like to stock, and Sheep’s Clothing had shelves and shelves of Koigu merino wool.  It wasn’t something I would normally pick up, but I wondered what was so special about it that the store was moved to stock it so well.

While browsing the sock yarn, I was also inspired by many lovely, decorative, accent scarves on display, that were knitted up with various sock yarns (including the Koigu yarns).  I have never made anything with sock yarn besides socks (we all know how I love to knit those socks!!!), and I suddenly wanted to try something new.

I purchased two hanks of the Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino in a variegated green color with the plan of knitting up a delicate scarf.  I was now on the hunt for a pattern.

It just so happened that last week, when I hit the grocery store late one night to prepare for Ben-dog’s homecoming from the hospital, I picked up a couple of knitting magazines that I found on the shelf (again, attempting to cheer myself up…).  One was Interweave Knits, Spring 2011.  There is a scarf pattern in it called Rain on the Prairie Scarf that is just perfect for the yarn I picked out and the project I was planning. 

I haven’t done much with lace knitting, and the pattern is recommended for first time lace knitters.  What a perfect find!

I am actually thoroughly enjoying knitting up this scarf, and it looks so pretty, I can’t wait until I achieve a bit more length on it so I can get a feel for how it will drape. 

 

 

 

 

 

.

This scarf was designed by Maureen Hefti.  Her blog can be found HERE.

Meanwhile, I also started a new pair of basic socks in a fun, self-striping yarn to fulfill my more mindless knitting needs.  The colorway is called purple spice.

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

I am also still trying to fit in more work on the Raglan Sleeve Topper which is a little on hold at the moment, due to my love affair with this scarf pattern.

Happy knitting!  

