While still in bed this morning, thinking about life and considering the idea of getting up, I realized that I have spent around $300 in the last month on yarn.  I was thinking about what a significant chunk of change that is.  Maybe knitting isn’t ALWAYS cheaper than therapy!

I can’t say that I regret any of my yarn purchases.  Just looking at them makes me happy.  I actually have a little corner nook in my bedroom that is dedicated to my yarn and knitting supplies and knitting books.  When the rest of the house is falling down around me, I am always sure to keep the knitting nook neat and organized.  It makes me happy.  Sometimes, when I am really feeling stressed, especially when it hits me in bed at night, I actually just focus on my little knitting nook, and it redirects my attention to happier thoughts.  I don’t know if that sounds really strange, but I swear it’s the honest truth, and it has been for more than a year now.

Aside from being a knitting buff, I have always been a bit of a book lover (and hoarder), so my little collection of carefully selected, and poured over, knitting books makes me nearly as happy as the knitting itself.

Even though I (apparently) don’t mind dropping a crazy chunk of change on high quality, hand painted yarn, I do still love a good bargain, and my book collection holds many examples of that.

Knitting, books and bargains.  The trifecta!  Hence, the power of the knitting nook.

(I’m not kidding, guys.  I’m really this weird.) 

One of my favorite books (and one of the main inspirations for this blog, actually) is a book called Knitting Through It: Inspiring Stories for Times of Trouble, edited by Lela Nargi.  It’s a great read that touches on the long history of knitting, but also includes more current stories of how knitting has helped other people through tough life experiences.  I am embarrassed to say that I more or less read this entire book in an armchair in a Border’s Bookstore one Saturday about a year ago, but my own personal copy was procured through the great Amazon.com.  It was there under the guise of  “used books”, but was brand new, still in the wrapping, for 0.81 cents.  That is the honest truth.

Just about every one of my books these days is obtained like that.  I can’t justify doing it any other way! 

It’s partly how I justify $300 worth of really fabulous yarn.  Cut corners here to free up some funds there, and have the perfect knitting nook.   I’m so lucky!

Happy weekend to you!

