It’s camping time again…

Last year, I participated in Camp Loopy 2012, which was a fun, summer knit-along sponsored by The Loopy Ewe, one of my favorite yarn shops.  The camp is virtual, meaning no insect repellent required.  This also means that thousands of knitters all over the country and internationally can participate Online. 

Last year, it was a ton of work, but I ended up knitting some things I would likely have never tried otherwise (and some of them turned out great).  I also earned many fun knitting gifties, and a special hank of Camp edition Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere yarn for completing all three camp challenges.

This year, I had decided that I would not participate since I tend to be stretched so thin in general.  I had firmly decided.  In fact, I was relieved not to be doing THAT again this year….yeah.

Then the posts went up on Sheri’s blog about Camp Loopy 2013, and I found myself laying in bed at night, thinking about which project I could TOTALLY knit up for Challenge #1.   Every night… challenge #1 … and then I could get the cute T-shirt with the 2013 logo on it.

I’m sure you see where this is going.

SOOOOO, for Camp Loopy 2013, Project #1, I will be knitting the Rain On The Prairie Scarf pattern.  I have knit this before, and loved the pattern, and I have been wanting to make a second.  My last scarf was knit in fingering weight, so I thought I’d do this one in lace weight.  Fun!  I actually haven’t knit anything in lace weight yarn yet.

The rules for Challenge/Project #1 are that you must knit something up from a single skein of either fingering or lace weight yarn, and the total amount used must be no less than 375 yards (and holding it double doesn’t count!).  It must be a yarn brand/type that you have not knitted with before. 

The challenge begins on June 1st and must be completed by June 30.  Projects must be photographed and posted by July 1st. 

I think I’m up to it!!!  Just ordered my yarn and my T-shirt.  What’s one more thing on the ‘ol to-do list….right?

~Happy knitting!

