My raggedy knitting chair & latest project.

Knitting/crochet for Camp Loopy project two began this past Wed, June 27.  We will have four weeks to complete this project, which is a significantly larger project for most of us participating as compared to project one.  For me, it will be about 3 times the yardage that I knit for project one.

As I indicated in a previous post, I am knitting the Garden Cardigan using Cascade Ultra Pima cotton in a bright red color.  Despite the chaos of the last week and a half, I have made some good headway.

 

 

Leafy border on the cardigan

I have sort of spiraled down into a project schizoprenia again, which doesn’t surprise me, since I’m learning that I seem to cycle.  I can go a while being focused on a few main projects, get them completed, and plan for the next round.  This is then followed by a wave of yarn obsession and pattern envy which drives me to start a myriad of projects, work on them for a day or so, and then drop all of it for an entire new set of ideas and fiber that I want to work with.

Knitting with dealines requires that I focus a bit more, so I am trying to dwindle it down to three or so.

A second deadline I have now set for myself is my sister’s birthday in a few weeks.  I started the Green Grocer bag in hopes of giving it to her as part of her gift if it turns out nicely.  It is actually a crochet pattern!  I am not much of a crocheter anymore, although I was rarely without a hook in my hands in my youth.  I just don’t seem to enjoy it anymore, and I find the versatility of knitting so much more satisfying.  That said, I am enjoying this pattern, and I forgot about the ‘instant gratification’ associated with how quickly crocheted projects work up! 

Here is what I have so far. 

It is actually turning out to be a rather large bag.  Doesn’t it look like it belongs on the beach, or at a farmer’s market somewhere?  I am crocheting it with yarn from my stash called Pattons Pure Organic cotton in a bright pink color that is simply called “red” on the yarn band.  It is SO soft, I am starting to think I should have saved this yarn for a sweater, and crocheted the bag with something else. 

I’ll be working on the bag a bit more tonight, so we will see how far I get.  In spite of all of my ambition and plans for this weekend, I hit a bit of a wall after I got up this AM, so I made it somewhat of a ‘mental health day’ instead: resting, cooking, and hanging with the dogs.  I’ll be off for part of the upcoming week, and my brother is coming into town, so I will have lots of time to get caught up on my knit/crochet projects.

 

~Happy knitting!

