I finished the first of the Calumet socks.  The sock weighed in at 31 grams total.  I am making these socks by splitting a fairly small, 58 gram ball of yarn, so I needed to make sure there would be enough left for me to complete the second sock.  About half way through this sock, I realized that I could knit the toe in a complimentary color to extend the main color for the two socks. 

I ended up  choosing a ball of Loopy Ewe solid series yarn in the color burgundy (left over from the trim on my Breath of Fresh Air Scarf) for the toe.  I think it worked out well.  I have already cast on for sock #2.

In other news, I discovered a new, local knitting group in my area on Ravelry.  They have been meeting for about a year, and they are called the NW Indiana Knit Wits.  They meet up on the last Sunday of each month, which works out great for me since I work during the week.  I hope to meet up with them at the end of this month.

Also, I placed my order today for Camp Loopy at the Loopy Ewe.  If you think you might like to join in, read about it HERE.  Camp Loopy is held every year by the Loopy Ewe, and it combines a sort of knit along with a challenge and contests where you can win credit for yarn purchases.  You also get discounts on yarn purchased for each challenge.  If you participate in all 3 challenges this summer, you will automatically earn a complimentary hank of cashmere yarn in a limited edition colorway created just for Loopy Ewe ‘campers’.  The gimmick/offer is totally working on me.  I want to earn my special yarn! 

So I ordered my yarn for the challenge today.  Challenge number 1 must be knit from a minimum of 400 yards of yarn (no holding it double), and it must be knit from a pattern by a designer who lives in a country other than the one you reside in.  Once my yarn gets here, I’ll show it on this blog, and share my plans for it.  I will have to get a move on since the project must be complete and posted at Loopy by June 26th.  I’m ready!

~Happy knitting!

By the way…I know I have been saying that I need to knit from my stash for a while, but to participate in Camp Loopy, I needed to purchase yarn within certain dates to be eligible for certain benefits of camp this year.  I got a 20% discount on my yarn since it was purchased for Camp Loopy, and the yarn I chose was more than 400 yards in a single hank, and the hank was only $12.50.  So, see?  I did my best to keep it on the cheap while still being able to participate in camp.

