I finally wore my new purple mittens today.  I had been sporting a pair of wool blend, fingerless mitts that a member of the knitting group made last year for our holiday gift exchange.  They worked out perfectly all fall but I noticed that my fingers were starting to sting in the last week or so.   I figured it was mitten time, and my new mittens worked out well.  No stinging fingers.

I recently obtained a copy of Interweave Knits Holiday Gifts Knitting special edition magazine.  I had to search for weeks before finding it at a local craft store.

With the recent loss of Border’s book stores, and then the closing of our local Barnes and Noble book store, buying books and magazines has become a real chore.  Apparently no one in Indiana reads books anymore because we have literally NO book stores now, from which to purchase or peruse newly released books and periodicals.  Ugh!  Anyway…

Among many great patterns, there is a pattern (designed by Alexis Winslow) for a super-cute pair of fingerless mitts that caught my eye.  They are called Chivalry Mitts and they are done in colorwork hearts. 

I think they might be my first attempt at real colorwork.  I already have some yarn that I would like to use for the project, and I am dying to try, but I have been spending most of my spare knitting time working to complete Karen’s scarf by Christmas Eve.  I have two more weeks, and it’s not even half way done.  Colorwork mitts may have to be my New Year’s project.

After this week, I will have a two week break for the holidays which will free up some knitting time.  I am counting the days…

Happy knitting!

